Salvation Sonnet: A Shakespearean Sonnet

Standard

Salvation Sonnet

Proverbs 3:6 “in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”

As a former English teacher and fan of Shakespeare, I just had to try my hand at a sonnet. Literally!

The traditional Shakespearean Sonnet follows a specific pattern. Each line is written in iambic pentameter of 10 syllables each. For that I had to do a lot of finger-counting and talking aloud (quietly, of course, since I didn’t want too many library patrons convinced of my insanity) to ensure that I had the right rhythm and syllable count.

Then comes the rhyme scheme. (For those of you who are long out of the English classroom age, that’s the pattern of how words rhyme, in this case, at the end of each line) Anyway, the rhyme scheme for the traditional Shakespearean Sonnet is A B A B C D C D E F E F G G. The last two lines (called a couplet) should sum up the whole point of the poem.

I did steer away from the traditional topic, but who says I had to follow everything to a tee?

Shakespeare

William Shakespeare

7 responses »

  1. I will right away grab your rss as I can not in finding your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please let me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  2. We are OUTRAGED by one priest’s dress code that prevents us from celebrating Mass. Please visit and lend your support at my blog. Thank you.

    If I had in any way offended you with this comment, please delete with my sincere apologies. Thank you, Eric

    • No offense at all. I am glad to see that there are still men out in this world who will take action to defend the honor of their wives. Keep up the good work. My prayers are with you.

Tell me your thoughts

